You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine 
Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)”

I’ve been singing this song for what must be months, constantly. So much so that I hadn’t realized the kids knew every word until I heard one of them singing it the other day.

As many of you know by now, Kevin and I are entering a season of uncharted waters. We have resigned our position at a church we love with a staff we love. (Sap alert) These past 8 years have been one of the best times of our lives. We have grown in faith, in leadership, we have learned how to serve and learned the joy in giving. We have seen kids come into our area of ministry and graduate out with amazing hearts to serve God. We have worked alongside our best friends and under mentors who have meant more to us and taught us more than they may ever know. I have no doubt that these past few years will forever hold this sacred place in our hearts.

I can’t say that walking away from this time is easy. In fact it is emotional, and terribly bittersweet. Although we will continue to attend our church when we are not traveling, and these relationships that have meant so much to us will stay in tact, this is a major life change. When the grief over what we are leaving behind hits me, I remind myself what a blessing it is to move from something we love to something we love.

God has grown this passion in us for foster care and those involved in the foster care system. In November in Milwaukee alone nearly 150 children were removed from their homes and placed into foster care with 104,000 children throughout the county looking for a forever family. We truly believe that The Church is the hope of this foster care crisis. If one person from every church in America would commit to adopting one child from foster care there would be more people waiting to adopt then there would be children waiting for an adoptive family. Not only can The Church impact the foster care system from a numbers standpoint, but we have this hope through Christ that can change the hearts and the course of life for the kids and families in foster care.

God has opened the doors for us to start OneHope27, inc. a non-profit that strives to equip the Christian Community to impact the foster care system with the hope of Christ. Check us out at Onehope27.org or on facebook, twitter or instagram.

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

 

