I imagine by the time you are reading this, you have heard about the horrific shooting at an ELEMENTARY school in Connecticut! My heart aches for the parents who’s children will not come home tonight. My heart mourns for the innocent victims of this heinous crime, and my mind wonders thinking of the horror those poor children witnessed today. No child should have to go through the sheer terror of an event like this. No one has the right to take life, innocent life into their own hands!

Our world can be a scary place, and is getting more so every day. I have to admit, that when I heard about the shooting I immediately wanted to go pick my kids up from school to assue their safety! The truth is this is sometimes horrible, unspeakable things happen in this world as a result of sin and we may not always be able to protect our children. We have to be sure that our kids know Jesus, the only true light in this dark world! 

So tonight, I will discuss the detestable events of today with my oldest son (who is in elementary school). I will be very careful how I word things, and careful not to invoke undue fear, but to simply inform him of what happened today and the heartbreaking notion that awful things like this can, do, and will continue to happen in this world. Most of all I will point out what God’s word says in John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” Then I will hug him tight and not let go until he can’t stand it anymore! 

